Home » News » Organisers scrap 2020 Ballon d’Or
2020 Ballon d’Or

Organisers scrap 2020 Ballon d’Or

The Ballon d’Or won’t be awarded this yr because of the extraordinary situations created by the coronavirus pandemic, organisers France Soccer introduced yesterday.

Will probably be the primary time the trophy given for the world’s greatest males’s footballer has not been awarded since Englishman Stanley Matthews received the inaugural version in 1956.

“There will probably be no version in 2020, as a result of it seems, after considerate consideration, that every one the situations will not be met,” mentioned Pascal Ferre, the editor of the journal.

🎴Read Also▶️
EFCC re-arraigns ex-AGF, Adoke, six others over alleged roles in Malabu oil scandal

The COVID-19 outbreak noticed all main soccer leagues shut down in March, with the German Bundesliga the primary to renew behind closed doorways in Might.

France Soccer mentioned it could be unfair to vote on the world’s greatest participant when some leagues, together with the French Ligue 1, cancelled their seasons early.


Ferre additionally advised that it could not be proper to guage gamers primarily based on video games performed with out spectators current.

🎴Read Also▶️
WTO: Okonjo-Iweala needs prayers - Nigerian women

“We consider that such a singular yr can’t… be handled as an atypical yr,” he added. “Two months (January and February), out of the eleven usually required to kind an opinion and determine who ought to raise the trophies, symbolize far too little to gauge and decide, with out forgetting that the opposite video games had been performed –- or will probably be performed –- in uncommon situations (behind closed doorways, with 5 replacements, Champions League’s Last eight performed in a single recreation).”

🎴Read Also▶️
‘Akeredolu laying strong basis for future’

Lionel Messi received a record-breaking sixth Ballon d’Or final yr.

The ladies’s Ballon d’Or, which was first awarded in 2018, has additionally been cancelled, as have the Kepa Trophy, given to one of the best younger participant, and the Yashin award for greatest goalkeeper.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *